Why can’t you be 33?

33 that is how old you should be today! You should be celebrating your birthday with family and friends. Your babies should be singing happy birthday to you. You should be blowing out 33 candles on a cake made for you!

But you’re not are you? You stopped at 29 . You don’t get to see your kids growing and changing. You don’t get to take them to the park, take them on adventures, you don’t get to feel them curling up beside you or in your lap.

The day you left our whole world changed, all the family dynamics became screwed up and there’s nothing that you left that will ever be the same.

I hear people say “this is your new normal ” but that’s not true there is nothing normal about this life.

I want to hear your voice when I talk to you, I want to see your expressions as you feel all kinds of emotions, I want to feel you kiss my cheek and the touch of your hugs. But they are gone and I never will experience you as a person, my son again.

Yet I still wait with a hope beyond reason that one day I’ll open my eyes and I will see your handsome face and beautiful smile. I still expect to hear your voice when I answer the phone

I am lost somewhere between yesterday and now, waiting and moving on. On a love I can never give up on.

I miss you son. Happy Birthday Mark Aaron Quimby! ❤️

Leave a comment